FOR SALE – A Suburban Homestead

For those of you who have followed my trials and tribulations in aquaponics and sustainable living in general over the years, you will probably have noticed that most of my projects have taken place at my home in Knysna, South Africa.

This home is now for sale as I am pursuing the next chapter of my adventure further West in Paarl.

The house boasts panoramic views over the Knysna Estuary and is situated high on the hill in Upper Old Place. I specifically chose the house originally because of the elevation of the land and painstakingly terraced the property to best use gravity to my advantage. If my memory serves me correctly, the erf size is over 1200sq/m, the house itself is about 300sq/m and consists of;

4 Bedrooms (2 en-suite)
A 3rd Bathroom.
Guest Toilet.
Open Plan Kitchen/Livingroom
Library/Diningroom
Home Office
Scullery
Laundry (where I also brew mead)
An enclosed deck.
Pizza Oven.
Double Garage (one half converted to a maids room)
A separate one-bedroomed cottage

Then the grounds;

Swimming pool and pool deck.
6m x 3m greenhouse tunnel.
2 x Fish ponds.
Superb Tilapia brood stock producing 2000 fingerlings a week in season.
Numerous pumps, plumbing and filters.
18 Aquaponic growbeds.
Water storage of another 30 000L. including a 20 000L “Koi” pond.
Extensive soil-based vegetable and herb gardens.
Fruit and olive trees.
etc. etc. etc.

It’s a large, rambling urban homestead, ideal for a large extended family who can enjoy it as much as we have. It’s not a spick and span showhouse, but more of a comfortable place that you and your family can call home.

My price is R2.5 million ($362k) and as we are relocating lock-stock-and-smoking barrel, I’ll throw in our family restaurant (The Old Gaol Restaurant, Knysna) at no cost if we find a willing buyer at this price. The restaurant is a great little investment and will easily pay your grocery bills and also provide a small income. With some innovative “hands-on”  management this could be a little gold mine.

I would really like this property to go to someone who will appreciate the “bigger picture” of building a sustainable, suburban homestead.  There are so many more things that I would have liked to have incorporated but, hey, I need to move on.  Contact me directly at aquaculture (at) knysna.sa.com (replace the at with @) and let’s chat.

Enough for now

Synaptoman

Leave a Reply

