Aquaponics 101 – Somebody stop me

They say that “Nature hates a vacuum.”  The same is true for me and space.  I can’t bear to look at an unused piece of my garden that I just know that an Aquaponic system could fit into.

So I dug a hole.

I sloped it from 500mm in the shallow side to 1.2m in the deep side.  I made it 4m long and 3m wide.  Then I sat back, had a beer, and decided what to do with it.

I visualised a tank of about 10 000L that I could stock with Tilapia in Summer and Koi in Winter.  For growbeds I’ll use some of my trusty 500mm PVC half pipes suspended somehow over the pond.

Then I threw a concrete base built some shuttering and cast 150mm re-inforced concrete walls.

Here are some action shots up to where I find myself now.

This is the beginning of the base.  Note the re-inforcing

concrete_base1

This is a shot of the completed base

base_down1

This is the shuttering we used.  They’re called EF Panels

shuutering_on

After the shuttering came off

shuttering_off

These are the 4 growbeds I’ll be using

half_pipes_down

Now I need to think some more.

Cheers

Synaptoman

7 Responses

  1. Looking at your picture, you guys are an inspiration. I can not wait to get my operation going.

  2. Hi i have approx 4 ha of land and want to do aquaponic farming
    could i be offered some advice please

    • Hi Anwar,

      Everything you need to know to get started is in my manual, Aquaponics – The Synaptoman way. Just click on the top right of this screen to order your copy now.

      Regards

      Synaptoman

  3. Hi,
    I’m putting a plan together to start a commercial system. How much eggs are breed per month?

  4. Hello,

    I am interested in building a small system for home use. I want to supply enough food, year around, for a family of five. I have read some of your articles one being about urine to start the cycling process and two issues with your siphon. Can you elaborate more on these two?

    Please respond to the mail address above.

    Also, can your book be purchased in the States?

    Thank you!
    –Dana

  5. Hi Dana,

    I’ll email you privately re: your questions.

    We post to the States daily. It takes about 14 days to get there. Just order from the link and I’ll post off immediately.

    Cheers

    Synaptoman

  6. Hi Dana,

    Could you please let me have your email address, the one you provided just came back. You can email me on;

    aquaculture(at)knysna.sa.com

    just put a @ where the (at) is. I do this to try and foil spammers.

    Cheers

    Synaptoman

Leave a Reply

