Aquaponics 101 – More Towers

In Aquaponics 101 – Strawberry Towers I showed you how to make strawberry towers. This is all very well to make one or two, but when making hundreds, as we are doing at our new commercial site, one needs some tools.  Cutting the slots is no problem (we just use an angle-grinder) but pressing the heated pipe can be quite hard on the hands and inaccurate, so we made up a jig.  This is what it looks like.

The procedure is exactly the same. Cut the slots, heat up, insert into jig and bend. The final product looks like this.

We had 50mm of rain over the weekend and the pool/sump almost collapsed in with the weight of the water and clay. The clay all had to be dug out, the side straightened and then filled properly with sand and cement. It was a close call and the pool could easily have cracked.

Note to Synaptoman, “do it right the first time !!

This is what it looked like when we arrived on site on Monday morning.

I thought my readers might be interested in what my site office looks like. This may be particularly interesting for those of you reading this post at work, cosily tucked away in some office or cubicle. Please be warned this is pretty high-tech and state of the art and I’m sure that you’ll be impressed with the quality of my furnishings and equipment.

Well, here it is………..

Well, enough for now.

Synaptoman

3 Responses

  1. I like the tower! I’m going to try a couple of these in my greenhouse this year. Do you run a constant drip or is it on a timer? What’s the distance between each opening? Do you have any pics with fruit?? Thanks!

  2. So I’ve had my towers in place for the last year and they worked great! Have you had any problems with them getting root bound? I have a couple of pockets where the water is overflowing. I had to use a screwdriver to pry the plant and gravel out! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

