Crutches

We all use them.  Crutches.  My late Dad <respect> used to always say, “why bark, when you have a dog to bark for you.”  True, but what if you lost your dog?  Wouldn’t it be handy if you knew how to bark?  Crutches, these days, are mostly disguised as technological aids.  The most obvious one that springs to mind is the spell-checker.  When last have you actually opened a dictionary to check the spelling and meaning of a word, as well as in what context it is used?

Crutches make us lazy.  An elevator or escalator gets us up or down a building quickly and effortlessly.  Time is money, tick-tock.  But what do we do after work?  Hit the gym of course, to get some exercise.  I know it’s not feasible to walk up the stairs of a 50-story building, but for heavens sake, if you’re only going down a floor or two, use the stairs.  It’s probably quicker, you’re getting a light workout, and you’re saving energy.  Imagine what electricity is used to haul an elevator up 50 stories from the basement to get you from floor 50 down to 49.  It just doesn’t make sense to me.

Our highest building in little old Knysna is 3 stories plus basement parking, we have only a handful of elevators and we only got our first elevator last year in our new mall.  The locals call it “rollende trappe” or “rolling stairs” and spent days riding up and down until the mall management had them thrown out.

In a little town like ours we could get exercise and save energy by walking or cycling almost everywhere (many do).  Being a rather affuent (and effluent when the sewerage plant overfowed in the floods) town, we have loads of massive SUV’s driven by blonde ladies with tight faces and permanent smiles, who drive a block down the road to visit a friend instead of just walking.

To the dismay of my few remaining clients, I stopped wearing a watch years ago and make appointments for “mid-morning”, “after-lunch” and “at sundowners”.  I eat when I’m hungry, drink when I’m thirsty (most of the time), sleep when I’m sleepy, wake up when the birds start singing, and fall over when I’m p#ssed.   Yes, yes, I know people with real jobs can’t do this, but hey, unlike me, at least you get a salary for all of that super-efficient work you do, ON TIME.

Another crutch is user manuals.  What’s the fun of reading how to assemble or work something when you can work it out yourself AND learn something?  What I have learnt, is that some things are really difficult to assemble, especially with the child bride chirping in the background to, “stop being an &rshole, and just use the manual.

I recently used a SatNav (GPS) in the UK to find places.  This must be the ultimate crutch.  “At the next roundabout, take the 2nd exit.”  And you just DO IT.  No thought, no alternatives, you just DO IT, even if it means driving straight past the building you are looking for, and circling the block three times as you mindlessly follow the instructions of the sweet lady in the GPS.

I’m sure you can think of many more crutches that you use every day.  All I ask is to just step back and ask yourself, “why am I using this?  Do I really need it?  What if I tried a day without it?

Be Good

Synaptoman

P.S. Noh spel cheker waas usd in this blogg entri.

Leave a Reply

