He’s BAAAACK

Wow, that was a great little break. The only problem that I am now faced with is that I need a holiday to recover from my holiday. I have about 800 photographs of our travels, but have decided, for the sanity of my few remaining readers, to spare you the details and just fill you in with some highlights before getting back into my daily postings.

No, I did not get to see The Police in concert at Wembley Stadium. Unfortunately it clashed with a certain rugby match in Paris, and being a patriotic Saffer, I decided to watch the match at a little Irish pub off Covent Gardens in London.

In order to secure a table we had to arrive 4 hours early and killed the time by drinking copious quantities of R60 Heinekens and fighting with the Poms. At one stage I estimated that our little party was outnumbered 100 to 1, but these odds became irrelevant as the beers started to work. Of course we could have watched the game around the corner at the Springbok Bar, but that wouldn’t have been half the fun.

I had one very close call when I stood up, hand on heart to sing our National Anthem and knocked a little English lass flying. Her boyfriend immediately jumped into the fray and requested a personal audience with me outside, but I just ignored him and continued screaming meaningless nonsense to the more “difficult” parts of our Anthem.

What I will give the English is that they are such terribly good sports, and after the match all 600 of them lined up to shake our hands and buy us more drinks.

Another highlight was making bio-diesel from used cooking oil in a little garage with my future son-in-law, popping it into the tank of his Landy, and then driving from Maidstone to Hastings and back without any hitches. It’s easy, and I am going to do it, AND I will show you how it’s done some time in the future.

bio1.jpg

There are also some general observations that I would like to note;

  • It is not always cold, cloudy and rainy in the UK. We had beautiful weather throughout and I actually got sunburnt at the Battle of Hastings re-enactment.
  • The drivers are careful, courteous and obey the rules of the road to the letter. Our taxi drivers would last 15 minutes at most before being pulled over and banned for life.
  • England and Ireland are expensive for South Africa visitors. I know you can’t do the conversion directly, but petrol costs R15/l, a pint of beer R45 – R70 depending where you drink, fish and chips about R60, and a meal for 6 in an average restaurant R3000 +.
  • The public transport system is fast, efficient but once again for us, expensive.
  • There is such HISTORY in the UK. My daughter lives in one of the newest houses in her road, and it was built in the 1860’s. My family parish church in Gowran, Ireland was built in 1388 on the ruins of an even earlier church. This makes me very sad as I watch our Government try and re-write history to suit their narrow, short-term political agenda.

kc-gowran.jpg

  • England, especially Kent in the South is beautiful and green, and there seems a real desire amongst the locals to preserve the environment.
  • They have crap beaches and the seawater is ice cold.
  • It is safe and secure and I found it really refreshing to not continually have to look over my shoulder.

Oh well, enough rambling. My travels have given me plenty of material for future postings and I will share more observations over the next few weeks.

One last thing. I promised to report back on how neglect affects a blog. I think a graph portrays a better picture than any stats could, so here is a picture of Blog Neglect.

blogneglect.jpg

Be Good

Synaptoman

2 Responses

  1. kevin. you make the UK sound like liliput. while you were here you went into a “little Irish pub off Covent Gardens”. after that you ” knocked a little English lass flying” and then we ended up in a “little garage” making diesel. just so all your other readers know we are the right size over here, i know things look smaller in photos, or with reading glasses on, but thats just an illusion.

    it was great to have you all here and both of us loved to show you around. and there is always room in out home for you to stay should things get bad on the dark continent.

    now i really must go as i need to make a tiny cup of tea to drink with my microscopic jam on toast.

  2. Twelve inches, and yours ??

Leave a Reply

