The “oaf” of allegiance.

During his State of the Nation address on Friday, Mbeki made the proposal of an oath of allegiance in the hope of encouraging children to uphold moral values and take pride in nation-building. By Monday, the text of this “oath”, which will be recited every day at assembly at all schools in SA, was released. It says;

We the youth of South Africa, recognising the injustices of our past, honour those who suffered and sacrificed for justice and freedom.

“We will respect and protect the dignity of each person, and stand up for justice.

“We sincerely declare that we shall uphold the rights and values of our Constitution and promise to act in accordance with the duties and responsibilities that flow from these rights.

Now this is all very dandy, but I have some major issues with the whole concept of hundreds of thousands of children standing up every day, hands on heart, reciting some meaningless (to them) mumbo-jumbo. A little bit too much like something our friend Mao would have liked.

child_soldiers_xinhua.jpg

And then, I also have a major problem with the wording of this oath. Children (PLEASE don’t call them learners, for f*ck sake) at school at the moment are aged between 5 and 18 (or 25 depending on the school). This means that they were born between 1990 and 2003. They had absolutely nothing to do with the so-called “injustices” of the past, and I see no reason why they should “recognise the injustices of the past”.

I am 1/8 German. Does this mean that I am somehow (even remotely) responsible for the so-called (hang, I couldn’t resist that) Holocaust? Of course not, and so too are our children completely innocent in respect of South Africa’s past.

By dredging up the past, blaming Apartheid for every current problem (like Eskom) and entrenching racial discrimination, the ANC government is no better than those evil dudes who somehow all disappeared in 1994.

The doom and gloom portrayed of life pre-1994 is overpowering, and I’m even starting to believe all this propaganda myself. Maybe my life only began in 1994? Maybe nothing I, or any other South Africans did prior to 1994 was remotely important, unless it involved blowing up innocent men, woman and children in the name of the revolution?  Nothing of value was achieved, we were all miserable, and our only hope lay in the mighty ANC.

But hey, I’m not sure why I’m getting myself in a froth about this issue. It’ll die a natural death, just like the anti-kissing law. The kids will just laugh the whole thing off and compose their own rude version of it, or whatever.

You can take a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink.

There are obviously a lot of people in government, with a lot of time, being paid lot’s of money, to dream up these crazy ideas. Good for them. Who knows, next they’ll try and disban the Scorpions. (what, they have? are you serious?)

Synaptoman

14 Responses

  1. I am a teacher myself, and agree with all your statements. However, one should not underestimate the intelligence of the current regime.

    It is vital for Apartheid to try to be kept “alive”, as is the major, though rapidly diminishing cornerstone to fall back on to provide excuses and smokescreens for government incompetence.

    In a sense, history is repeating itself, with “swart gevaar” being replaced by “white gevaar”!

  2. There you go again. One blog about pellets and you have gone mangop again.You have now got old Prinsloo from Klerksdorp all buzzing.Who is the major that must be kept alive?You looking for shite bud . I would close this site down pronto. You have awakened the old BOSS okes.I must say though that chirps like ‘diminishing cornerstones’ makes me think that this is an english oke undercover. He worries me though when he says that the current ‘regime’ has intelligence.He has missed the boat there. Maybe he is still new to this under cover stuff.I would watch my back swaer.And your bek.VIVA

  3. Which 1/8 of you is German? Dont tell me I know.

  4. Vee haff vays un Meens Ja !
    Tomorrow ze jews vill play hopsctoch in ze myne feelds un ze whytees will be all doowing bungy chumping off ze Van Staadens brije wiffout ze ‘lastics…
    Heil Zuma !!

  5. Arsewipe, who the f*ck are you!?

    Try to post before “Budgy time”, otherwise take part in the debate.

    (One moderately humourous aside related to my omission of a word, I must say!)

    F*ck you anyway!

    * Edited by Synaptoman (I’m trying to keep it clean guys, I have children who follow this blog. Thanks)

  6. Yeah, on a slightly more serious note, I am advising my children at highschool to stay clear of all this propaganda about feeling sorry and apologetic that they have a white skin. The dip shit education (or lack therof) department may stick their pledge where the sun don’t shine. This reverse apartheid thing doesn’t work for me. All the government is doing is blowing the miniscule amount of credibility that they may have had!

  7. Oom Prinsloo relax my man.As a teacher you should be used to proof reading what you write as (like it did) things can be taken out of context. As for ‘Budgie Time’ there are things called time zones. I have due to the disgusting way in which my country has been run left the shite hole for better pastures for my two young white boys. I did run away if anybody starts that shite. Yes I did and as fast and as far as I could. I have never been so happy. Oh! By the way ” Swearing is a crutch for a crippled vocabulary” It looks as though you need a wheelchair though.Other than that nice to meet you.

  8. Actually just testing Synaptoman’s moderating skills. I thought he would delete it! Well done, and I apologise!

    Nice to meet you too!

    (Heeh heeh…)

  9. I will occasionally moderate, but NEVER delete, unless it’s really spam. Please feel free to vent your feelings here, as I am a firm believer in vigorous debate.

  10. […] 3, 2008 · No Comments A week or two back I discussed the proposed Oath of Allegiance, which schoolchildren will be required to recite every day. What has also been suggested is an […]

  11. […] Synaptoman feels the same way with this post “The oaf of allegiance”: Now this is all very dandy, but I have some major issues with the whole concept of hundreds of thousands of children standing up every day, hands on heart, reciting some meaningless (to them) mumbo-jumbo. A little bit too much like something our friend Mao would have liked. And then, I also have a major problem with the wording of this oath. Children (PLEASE don’t call them learners, for f*ck sake) at school at the moment are aged between 5 and 18 (or 25 depending on the school). This means that they were born between 1990 and 2003. They had absolutely nothing to do with the so-called “injustices” of the past, and I see no reason why they should “recognise the injustices of the past”. […]

  12. Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

